AIIA announces new Board and State Council Chair appointments to represent Australia’s ICT industry


Former AIIA Board Deputy Chair, Rob Hillard, has been appointed as new Chairman. Rob is currently Chief Strategy & Innovation Officer at Deloitte, former Managing Partner of Deloitte Consulting, and a recognised industry technology expert.

Existing Board members Angela Fox and Mark Nicholls take on the shared responsibility of AIIA Board Deputy Chair, while Murray Hurps has been appointed Treasurer, and John Paitaridis remains on the Board as Immediate Past Chair.

The Full Board of Directors now includes:

  • Stuart Althaus (Chief Executive Officer, SME Gateway)
  • Craig Baty (Principal, Data Driven)
  • Ken Boal (Vice President, Cisco)
  • Matt Codrington (Managing Director, Lenovo Australia & NZ)
  • Angela Fox (Managing Director, Dell Australia & NZ)
  • Rob Hillard (Chief Strategy & Innovation Officer, Deloitte)
  • Murray Hurps (Director of Entrepreneurship at the University of Technology Sydney)
  • John Ieraci (Chief Customer Officer, Telstra Enterprise)
  • Megan James (Consultant, ICT Industry)
  • David La Rose (Managing Director, IBM Australia & NZ)
  • Sharryn Napier (Vice President & Regional Director Australia & NZ, Qlik)
  • Mark Nicholls (Managing Director, Information Professionals Pty Ltd)
  • John Paitaridis (Chief Executive Officer CyberCX & CEO Technology Portfolio, BGH Capital)
  • Vito Rinaldi (Managing Director, Blue Crystal Solutions)
  • Karl Sice (Business Leader ANZ, Alcatel-Lucent Enterprise)
  • Rupert Taylor-Price (Founder and Chief Executive Officer, Vault Cloud)
  • Steven Worrall (Managing Director, Microsoft Australia)

Directors are elected for up to three-year terms to set strategic direction for the AIIA and work closely with AIIA management to develop the National Business Plan and oversee operational excellence.

The AIIA is also pleased to announce the State Council Chairs for 2020. They are:

  • NSW Council – Bridget Luke, IBM Australia Ltd (with deputies Jon Asquith, ServiceNow; Matt Day, Deloitte; and Sonya Sherman, Objective)
  • South Australia Council – Karin Geraghty, iinet (with deputies Rohan Bishop, Adept, and Jason Dreimanis, DWS)
  • Victoria Council – Warren Hill, Data#3 Ltd (with deputies Sam Parker, ServiceNow and Simon Elliot,
  • ACT Council – Greg Boorer, CDC Data Centres Pty Ltd (with deputy Hala Batainah, GiG Enterprises)
  • Western Australia Council – Sharon Brown, Sharon Brown & Associates (with deputies Geoff Harben, KPMG and Daniel Harvey, Amristar)
  • Queensland Council – Mark Nicholls, Information Professionals Pty Ltd.

“I’m delighted to welcome the new appointments to AIIA’s National Board and our State Councils. These members represent the diversity of the Australian digital economy, including large Australian companies, multinationals and small and medium sized businesses,” said the Chairman Rob Hillard.

“As the new Chairman, I recognise that it’s more important than ever for the IT industry to have a representative industry association. Through the AIIA, we look for ways to introduce positive change to help Australian businesses be more competitive, meet the needs of their customers and remain successful on the global stage.

“The AIIA’s vision is to grow Australia’s social and economic prosperity through technology innovation. Our Board members bring a vast range of skills, industry insights and experiences to the table, as together, we aspire to improve advocacy and shape policy for the Australian ICT sector, generate new business opportunities, increase collaboration with other members, and build professional standing.”